O

OpusClip

An AI video clipper that turns long videos into short, captioned clips and scores them for virality. Strong if clips are all you publish; billed in credits per minute of video.

Compare with Castmagic

What Is OpusClip?

OpusClip is an AI video clipping tool. You give it a long video, from a link or an upload, and it finds the moments worth posting, cuts them into short clips, reframes them for vertical feeds and adds animated captions. Each clip can get a virality score from 0 to 99, and paid plans post clips straight to social platforms.

It is sold on credits, where one credit is one minute of video processed, with a free plan and paid plans from $15 a month. It is built around video: its podcast page is about video podcasts, and it does not state support for audio-only episodes.

Overview of OpusClip's Features

ClipAnything. OpusClip describes it as multimodal clipping that finds moments from visual, audio and sentiment cues, with clips up to 15 minutes long. The free plan clips by spoken words only; Starter and up add visual objects, sound and emotion, and Pro adds prompt-to-clip and topic search.

Virality score. A 0 to 99 score per clip, built from hook, flow, value and trend, on the Starter and Pro plans.

Reframing. Auto reframe on every plan, with tracking of moving speakers and objects on Pro and up.

Captions. Animated caption templates with emoji and keyword highlights on every plan; custom fonts and brand vocabulary on Pro.

B-roll, hooks and voice-over. AI image and stock B-roll (stock from Pexels), AI video B-roll on Pro, an auto hook overlay on the top clips, and AI voice-over.

Editor. Text-based and timeline editing in the browser.

Posting and scheduling. Starter auto-posts to YouTube Shorts, TikTok and Instagram Reels; the full social media scheduler comes with Pro.

Brand templates. Fonts, colours and logos applied across clips: one template on Free and Starter, up to four on Pro.

Written output. A clip title, description and hashtag generator from Starter, and transcript (.txt) and subtitle (.srt) downloads on Pro. Show notes, blog posts and newsletters are not listed features.

OpusClip's Ideal Users

Video creators whose output is clips. If your week is one long video in and thirty Shorts out, virality scoring, multimodal clipping and direct posting are exactly the workflow OpusClip is built around.

Streamers and video podcasters. Long recordings with the camera on, where visual and sound cues matter as much as the words.

Social teams publishing at volume. Brand templates, a team workspace and a scheduler on Pro keep a busy clip calendar consistent.

Less ideal: audio-first podcasts, and anyone who needs the words. OpusClip does not state support for audio-only episodes, and show notes, newsletters and blog posts are outside what it lists. If the recording also has to become written content, a clipper covers one asset out of several.

OpusClip's Integrations

Imports: YouTube links and local uploads on every plan (videos up to 10 hours, from public or unlisted links), with Google Drive, Dropbox, Vimeo, Zoom, Riverside, StreamYard, Loom, Frame.io and others unlocking by plan.

Publishing: YouTube Shorts, TikTok, Instagram Reels, LinkedIn, Facebook Pages and X.

Editors: export to Premiere Pro and DaVinci Resolve (an XML file with SRT and the original segments) on Pro.

Automation: Zapier on Pro (up to 300 credits a month), an API and an MCP connector for Claude, Cursor and ChatGPT on Pro (beta) and Business, and a CMS integration on Business.

Available Support from OpusClip

Free and Starter users get a Discord community and an AI chat. Pro adds Intercom live chat, and Business gets priority support in a dedicated Slack channel. OpusClip also lists contact@opus.pro.

On security, the pricing page lists SOC 2 Type 2 compliance on every plan and SSO on Business, and OpusClip's trust center lists SOC 2 Type 2, SOC 3 and GDPR. Its help center notes that for non-enterprise users it may use your data to improve its AI models.

OpusClip's Pricing and Plans (2026)

OpusClip has a free plan, a Starter plan billed monthly, and Pro, bought in packs of credits. One credit is one minute of video processed. Prices verified September 30, 2026.

PlanMonthlyYearly (per month)Credits / monthNotable
Free$0not offered60watermark; up to 1080p; clips exportable for 3 days; no editing
Starter$15not offered150no watermark; 9:16 only; 1 brand template; virality score; auto-post
Pro (per pack)$29$14.50 in the US ($174 a year)3009:16, 1:1 and 16:9; 2 seats and up to 4 brand templates; scheduler; API (beta)
BusinesscustomcustomcustomSSO, sub-teams, 4K, CMS integration, priority Slack support

Regional pricing. The yearly Pro price depends on where you are: $14.50 a month in the US, UK, Canada, Australia and SEPA countries, and $17.40 elsewhere when we checked.

Credits. According to the pricing page, unused credits roll over for one more month on Starter and on monthly Pro, and for two months on yearly Pro. Pro can be bought in up to five packs monthly or fifteen yearly, each adding 300 credits a month. Dubbing costs 10 credits a minute, and each AI video B-roll generation costs 10 credits.

What that means in practice: a weekly one-hour episode uses about 240 to 300 credits a month, which fits one Pro pack and overruns Starter. And the credits buy clips only; the show notes, the newsletter and the posts still need another tool.

Pros of Using OpusClip

Clipping depth. Multimodal clip selection, virality scores and prompt-to-clip are more clip-specific machinery than general content tools carry.

Posting built in. Auto-posting from Starter and a full scheduler on Pro take clips straight to the feeds.

Low entry price for clips. $15 a month for 150 minutes of video, or $14.50 a month per Pro pack billed yearly in the US.

Editor round-trips. Premiere Pro and DaVinci Resolve export on Pro for teams that finish in a desktop editor.

A free plan to test with. 60 credits a month shows what the clipping finds before you pay.

Cons of Using OpusClip

Clips only. Show notes, blog posts and newsletters are not listed features; a title, description and hashtags per clip is the written output.

Credits by the minute. Credits are charged on every minute of the video you import, not on the clips you keep.

Subtitles translate into English only. OpusClip's help center says subtitles currently translate only into English, and Hindi and right-to-left languages such as Arabic and Hebrew are not supported.

Starter is vertical only. 1:1 and 16:9 clips need Pro.

Video-first. Audio-only podcasts are not a stated input.

Popular OpusClip Alternatives

OpusClip FAQs

What is OpusClip?

OpusClip is an AI video clipping tool. It finds the moments worth posting in a long video, cuts them into short clips, reframes them for vertical feeds, adds animated captions and scores each clip for virality. Paid plans post clips directly to YouTube Shorts, TikTok and Instagram Reels.

Is OpusClip free?

There is a free plan with 60 credits (60 minutes of video) a month. Clips carry an OpusClip watermark, render at up to 1080p and can be exported for 3 days. Paid plans start at $15 a month (Starter).

How much does OpusClip cost?

Starter is $15 a month for 150 credits, billed monthly only. Pro is $29 a month per pack of 300 credits, or $14.50 a month billed yearly ($174 a year) in the US; the yearly price varies by country. Business is custom. One credit is one minute of video. Prices verified September 30, 2026.

Does OpusClip work with audio-only podcasts?

OpusClip doesn't state support for audio-only episodes; its podcast page is about video podcasts. For an audio-first show, Castmagic turns episodes into captioned audiograms; see the Castmagic vs OpusClip comparison.

Can OpusClip write show notes or a newsletter?

Not as listed features. OpusClip generates a title, description and hashtags for each clip, and Pro users can download the transcript. For show notes, newsletters and posts from the same recording, see Castmagic vs OpusClip.